Firefly MMO

Just in – they’re making an MMO out of Firefly.

As usual, I’m having mixed feelings: I love, love, love Firefly. Loved the Firefly ‘verse, loved Firefly characters, loved Firefly stories, … but every time they’ve taken a good idea and tried to cash in with a film, a game, an RPG – whatever, they just ruin it.

“We see virtual worlds as an extraordinarily promising new entertainment medium,” said Adam Kline, Fox Licensing’s vice president of media enterprises in an e-mail. “We believe Multiverse can deliver an experience that will remain true to the original series, while enabling a whole new level of personal involvement for fans.”

Translation for your convenience: “$$$$$$$$”.

“Television series can be really good properties to turn into MMOs, because when you make a TV series, not only do you need great characters, but you need to create a full, rich, compelling place,” Bridges says. “If you’re doing science fiction, you have to really think it out and create an incredibly rich environment that is compelling in its own right, and worth exploring and going back to week after week. That’s what Joss Whedon did with Firelfy.”

Lovely, this really appeals to me. It does, seriously. Now – have you got the time, people, ideas and budget to do it?It might just be me still being pissed at Uwe Boll and his kind, but every time I hear news such as this I… I just cringe. Still – Serenity rocked. It wasn’t perfect, but it was pretty good.

I’ll be honest with you: I could’ve done without so much River and with a whole lot more Zöe. I.e.:

I’m not sure I got my point across. Let’s just try again:

And that, with Book, is one badass team. Fine, you can let Wash tag along to keep Zöe happy, Inara to keep us happy and Kaylee… Kaylee because she’s not half bad and she can be a good source of nice little battery operated toys.

So I actually loved Serenity. But now they should realise we don’t want video games, we want our the series back. A movie might do the trick for a while, but not a video game, not animated series, not a comic: we want those characters, flesh and bone. Discovering Gina Torres on Matrix (and on one of the Matrix films that should never ever have existed at that) or 24 isn’t enough. Not by a long shot.

Anyway, I digress. There’s yet one more problem I fear: so far I’ve been trying hard stray clear of MMOs, particularly World Of Warcraft. I’ve got way too many hobbies and ways to waste time as it is and I know myself. I won’t touch a WOW install CD with a ten foot pole – I can’t afford to.But a Firefly MMO? I might be tempted. Damn. And then I’ll hate their guts for releasing it.

Besides, there won’t be any Zöe there:

“The online version will move away from those central characters — after all, there’s only one Mal Reynolds. In an MMORPG, “everybody has to have their own story,” says Multiverse co-founder and executive producer Corey Bridges.”

“She’s great and… she knows… how to wear your pants and the rest of your clothes…”

Just because.

~ por nushh en 2006/12/08.

Una respuesta to “Firefly MMO”

  1. […] parir demasiado antes siquiera de saber bien cómo es. Me he despachado un poco más a gusto en el otro blog, pero aquí me voy a regalar la vista con otra fotito de Gina Torres. Porque ella lo […]

Responder

 
